Get me out of here

The best advice I can give you, whether you are about to become a mum for the first time or you’ve got toddlers running around your feet all day is to get out of the house

You might keep yourself busy (goodness knows the laundry alone could fill my day), but sooner or later you will suffer the effects of being cooped up with a baby who cannot yet hold a conversation. 

I see other mums online talk endlessly about how they don’t have ‘mum friends’, they feel alone and isolated. The problem is (this may sound harsh), no one is going to knock on your door and say ‘hey, do you fancy a play date?’. You have to put yourself out there!

For me, there was definitely a point where I developed cabin fever. Yes, those first weeks with a newborn, absolutely it was enough for me to sit and stare at him all day and revel in the fact that I had created a human. But when Richard came home from work, all I offered in way of conversation was “he smiled at me … I think. Maybe it was wind?”, “he threw up in my face” or “today I changed six dirty nappies”. Thrilling. 

I started attending the local children’s centre for baby groups and signed up to as many random classes as possible (some I quickly dropped, not everything will suit you but they’re all worth a look!). If nothing else, I take the pram out and we walk, we explore nature, talk to strangers (often other local mums out with their kids) and get some fresh air!

More recently, I joined mummysocial.com which has introduced me to other local mums and allowed me to set up my own social events. I have met some genuinely lovely ladies and baby Wilf is enjoying regular contact with other babies. 

The first step is always the hardest. But the rewards of a support group are huge! S. 

      

Leave a Reply

